Fri March 6 2015 Send Link to Friends   |   Add to Bookmarks
right border imagelogo right border image

Front Page  button_red  About Us  button_red  Health  button_red  Farming  button_red  CDF  button_red  Tourism  button_red  Events  button_red  Education  button_red  Politics  button_red  Churches  button_red  Contact Us 
  Bookmark and Share

              Bursary  button_red  Bursary Application Form  button_red  Schools/Colleges  button_red  Scholarships 


Structure of Education System In Kenya

A new system of education, known as the 8-4-4 system, was introduced in 1985. Under this system, eight years of primary schooling (leading to the Kenya Certificate of Primary Education (KCPE) ) are followed by four years of secondary schooling (leading to the Kenya Certificate of Secondary Education (KCSE)) and four years of first degree studies at university. This scheme replaces one which was based on the English pattern culminating in A levels and a three-year first degree course. The introduction of the 8-4-4 education system has led to tremendous changes in the secondary school curriculum. This is in line with the need for a broad-based curriculum that prepares students for self-reliance, vocational training and further education. In 1990, the first KCSE students entered university to begin four years of study for a general degree. The KCSE is administered by the Kenya National Examinations Council.

Primary Schools
Secondary Schools
The service charter:
The District Education Office in pursuit of the ministry of education goals and objectives is charged with the responsibility of providing, promoting and co-ordination provision of quality education and training. This is aimed at empowering individuals to become caring, competent and responsible citizens who value education as a life-long process.


  • Nomination and inauguration of district education board.
  • Nominations and inauguration of board of governors.
  • Co-ordination and supervision of examinations.
  • Co-ordination of KESSP implementation.
  • Assessment of institutions of learning for registration.
  • Quality assurance, supervision and maintenance of standards in educational and training institutions.
  • Provision of advisory services.
  • Interpretation, dissemination and implementation of policy guidelines and manuals.
  • Capacity building.
  • Monitor the use of funds and interpret accounts.
  • Admission and transfer of students.
  • Teacher management.
  • Monitoring the disbursement of bursaries and grants to educational institutions.
  • Mobilization of resources for educational development.
  • Payment for goods and services procured by the District Education Office.
  • Monitoring the recovery and remittance of the statutory deductions by educational institutions.

Nyanza Provincial Education Office
P.O. BOX 575
Tel:(035) 44157/2726/28

District Education Office,
Nyando District,
P.O. BOX 1914,

Nyanza Province Provincial
Adult Education Office

P.O. Box 1766
National Bodies

Ministry of Education, Science and Technology
Head: Prof. Sam Ongeri, Minister
Permanent Secretary: Prof. Karega Mutahi

PO Box 30040 Jogoo House "B", Harambee Avenue
Tel: +254(20) 318 581

Commission for Higher Education
Head: Prof. Everett M. Standa, Commission Secretary
PO Box 54999
Tel: +254(2) 228 753
Fax: +254(2) 222 218
Cable: comhigh

Feb. 17th 2011 - EDUCATION | Bursary funds to be released next monthby: Mrs. SAMUEL SIRINGI
Sh240 million already dispatched Ministry expected to disburse last tranche of Sh244 million The last tranche of the Sh500 million bursary kitty will be released next month.
The first instalment of Sh240 million has already been disbursed and the Education ministry is expected to release the Sh244 million balance.
At least Sh10 million had been set aside for building capacity of those managing the funds. Another Sh5 million will be spent on monitoring the disbursements, according to the ministry's head of communication, Mr John Mwandikwa. Bursary committees The funds are administered by constituency bursary committees that identify beneficiaries and decide the amount each should get.
MPs are patrons of the committees, although some have been accused of interfering with the disbursements.
More on Bursary